The WSFAB Outstanding Guide Award is presented annually to an Alberta resident in Memory of Franklin Ross.

The winner shall have been nominated for the Award by a current member of WSFAB, and selected to receive the Award by a committee that has been designated by the WSFAB Board of Directors. Preference will be given to a sheep guide.

Nomination Deadline: January 31

Submit your entries to and include "Franklin Ross Outstanding Guide Award" in the subject line.

Among the criteria the committee will consider are the following:

  1. A commitment to high ethical standards and sportsmanship.
  2. The esteem in which the guide is held by his/her hunting community, and his/her peers.
  3. Consistent willingness to go the extra mile to ensure a quality hunting experience for his/her clients.
  4. Knowledge of the country that he/she hunts and the big game animals inhabiting that country.
  5. A work ethic and dedication to the health, safety and well-being of his/her clients.

The guide does not have to be a current member of WSFA but should be encouraged to join by their nominators.


2019 – Scott Kennedy

2018 – Gary Cruickshank

2017 – Cameron Fancy

2016 – Steve Crawford

2015 – Quintin Thompson

2014 – Kelly Wiebe

2013 – Buckle given to each of Frank’s parents - Carrol and Wayne

franklin Ross

Franklin Ross Award Nomination Form

Memorial Donation Form